Plenary Speakers

Dr. Patrick Hartley

CSIRO’s Hydrogen Industry Mission

Dr. Patrick Hartley is the leader of CSIRO’s Hydrogen Industry Mission, a major national research initiative which was launched in May 2021. The Mission is focussed on delivering research, development and demonstration project partnerships which enable the scaleup of Australia’s domestic and export hydrogen industries.

In 2018, whilst establishing CSIRO’s Hydrogen Energy Systems Future Science Platform, he co-led the formulation of CSIRO’s National Hydrogen Roadmap, and, with the Chief Scientist of Australia, the briefing paper ‘Hydrogen for Australia’s Future’ which was presented to the Council of Australian Government’s (COAG) Energy council in August 2018, and laid the foundations for the development of Australia’s National Hydrogen Strategy.

Patrick graduated with a PhD in Chemical Engineering from Imperial College, London in 1994, and following research fellowships at the University of Melbourne, joined CSIRO as a research scientist in 1998. Since then has led research teams and programs working with national and international large corporations and SME’s on the development of new technologies for applications in drug delivery, energy storage, water treatment and petrochemical recovery. He has co-authored more than 90 peer reviewed publications almost all in collaboration with university and/or other research institution partners.

Patrick has occupied senior research management roles in CSIRO since 2006, and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. He holds an Adjunct Professorship at RMIT University in Melbourne, Australia

Prof Petra E de Jongh

Debye Institute for Nanomaterials Science, Utrecht University
The Netherlands

Petra de Jongh (born 20 January 1971) received her PhD in photoelectrochemistry in 1999, and worked 5 years as a senior scientist at Philips Research Laboratories in the Netherlands and Singapore. Since 2004 she works at Utrecht University and since 2014 as Chair Catalysts and Energy Materials in the group of Inorganic Chemistry and Catalysis. In 2013 she was visiting professor at the Université Pierre et Marie Curie in Paris. Her research focuses on supported nanoparticles and mesostructured materials, and gaining insight in the impact of particle size and distribution, confinement and pore structure on the functionality of these materials. An important application is the design of more efficient and durable catalysts, often in collaboration with industry, based for instance on studying the stability of supported metal nanoparticles under dynamic conditions. Another major research line is the use of inorganic materials for energy storage and conversion, including nanoconfined light metal hydrides for reversible hydrogen storage and fast ion conductors for all solid‐state batteries. Recently her interests have expanded to include electrocatalytic and thermal CO2 conversion.


Prof Evan Gray

Griffith University